Giorgio Magnanensi

GiorgioGiorgio Magnanensi
premiere: Dec. 4, 2012 Vancouver Aquatic Centre
ethuiá V
premiere: April 13, 2008 Darnell Linwood, solo horn
Commissioned with the support of the BC Arts Council
il suono blu
premiered Feb. 24, 2007 Victoria BC
Commissioned with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts

Described by acclaimed composer Franco Donatoni as “…a composer, musician and conductor of great talent and one of the most interesting personalities of the Italian generation,” Giorgio Magnanensi (b.1960) has gained an international reputation. He has won numerous composition awards and has served as conductor for a number of esteemed Canadian and international new music ensembles. He lectures at the University of British Columbia and Vancouver Community College.

Magnanensi’s music, which includes over 90 orchestral, chamber, electronic and multimedia works, strives “to emphasize the value of difference, communication and active participation in the creative process as a path towards a deeper availability to the encounter.” He explains: “the process is a living one that leads towards the foundation of a meaningful social function of the musician/composer in contemporary society, while fostering a deeper democracy of knowledge.”

Besides his renowned work as artistic director of Vancouver New Music where he has been programming and producing innovative and original new music events, concert series and festivals fostering a wide and experimental curatorial approach, he has become “…an increasingly influential figure in Vancouver’s developing classical/jazz crossover culture” (Alex Varty). His eagerness to explore the world of sound brought him to work in as many and diverse environments from underground experimental electronic to multimedia projects, video art, circuit bending and contemporary dance.

ethuiá V (2007)
for solo horn and electronics

“ethuiá V, written on the request of Aventa Ensemble with the assistance of the British Columbia Arts Council, is dedicated to Darnell Linwood. In this piece, the idea of centre is lost in favor of poly-centre, of which ideas, figures and ornaments are all functions of a living form. In this form, the chronology of these figures and sounds states the sequential nature of their own creation: chronology of sounds – chronology of invention”
– Giorgio Magnanensi

il suono blu has been written for the Aventa Ensemble on request of Bill Linwood with the assistance of The Canada Council for The Arts, and it is dedicated to Bill Linwood and Aventa.

In this piece – as in many of my recent works – I used the technique of collage and assemblage of heterogeneous forms with a programmatic character. The fragmented nature of these events underlines their character of work in progress – a sort of tale without beginning and ending, a permeable space declaring its non-obstruction to the diverse voices and soundscapes: fragments of forms – tales without history of a world without memory. [gm]